Is it a bird? Is it a plane?

I suppose I should briefly explain the reasonings behind my username and the name of the blog. I’m not trying to create a new superhero, nor am I particularly worried about using my username to remain anonymous.

I have simply combined two facts about myself: I am a girl and I believe that one of my most prominent qualities is my ability to empathise. Of course, I have not experienced every feeling in the world and so I cannot always empathise, but I take pride in my willingness to at least sympathise if i’m unable to empathise. I try to always understand the demons another person may be facing, and if i cannot understand the demons then i try to understand that, for that individual, those demons are very real and should not be mocked or belittled.

When someone is physically unwell with the common cold, the vast majority of people are able to empathise with that individual. People understand that the common cold is an unpleasant experience and something that is not desired, thus demonstrating empathy to the sufferer and wishing them well. Therefore I believe that mental illness could be treated in the same way. Of course I understand that mental illness manifests itself differently amongst every single individual, meaning it would be impossible to empathise with that person’s exact feelings. However a large percentage can at least empathise with the negative influence a mental illness can have on a life. Importantly, those that are unable to empathise should, i believe, at least be able to sympathise. Not everyone in the world has suffered the flu, but can sympathise with sufferers that it is an unpleasant experience. Therefore the same should apply to mental illness. Not everyone in the world has suffered with depression, anxiety, OCD, an eating disorder and many other disorders, but surely some sympathy could be found for the individual. This sympathy could be the foundations of a support network that is essential for the individual’s recovery.

When I mention sympathy, I do not mean sympathy as a means of patronising and feeling sorry for the individual. What i mean is that the person can sympathise that whilst they have not experienced the situation themselves, they have the capacity to understand at least in part how it must be affecting that person’s day to day life.

Once people begin to stop and think before judging and acting upon that judgement, the world will be a much more amicable place.

X

Author: empathygirl

I get it. A lot of people don't get it. I try to always get it.

Leave a Reply

